COPA America Centenario 2016 Schedule

Calendario, Fixtures, PDF Download



Uruguay National Football TeamThe Uruguayan national football team represents Uruguay in international association football and is controlled by the Uruguayan Football Association (UFA), the governing body for football in Uruguay. The current head coach is Óscar Tabárez. The Uruguayan side is commonly referred to as La Celeste (The Sky Blue One) or Charrúas.

Uruguay are frequently  win South American champions in 2011 Copa América. Uruguay have won the Copa América a record 15 times. The team has twice won the FIFA World Cup, including the first World Cup in 1930 as hosts, defeating Argentina 4–2 in the final. They won their second title in 1950, upsetting hosts Brazil 2–1 in the final match, which received an attendance higher than any football match ever.

The Team have won the Gold Medals in football at the Summer Olympics twice, in 1924 and 1928, before the creation of the World Cup. Uruguay also won the 1980 Mundialito, a tournament among former World Cup champions. In total, Uruguay have won the 20 official titles, a world record for the most international titles held by any country.


Their success is amplified by the fact that the nation has a very small population of around 3.4 million inhabitants (2011 est.). The Team is by far the smallest country in the world to have won a World Cup in terms of population, 1.75 million inhabitants in 1930. The second-smallest country, by population, to have won the World Cup is Argentina with a population of nearly 28 million people in 1978. Uruguay is also the smallest country ever to win any World Cup medals; only five nations with a currently smaller population than Uruguay’s have ever participated in any World Cup: Northern Ireland (three times), Slovenia (twice), Wales, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago. Uruguay is also the smallest nation to win Olympic gold medals in any team sport.

Uruguay Performance in the Copa America Events

Uruguay Men’s Football team is playing in the CONMEBOL Copa America before this tournament on 41 times and first time it’s appeared in 1930. The football Team win the Copa America Title 11 time 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995 and 2011.

Uruguay 2016 Copa America Away Kit

Uruguay 2016 Copa America Away Kit

Apart from the unique design on the bottom, Uruguay’s 2016 Copa America Centenario kit is pretty standard. It has a white crew neck collar, while featuring a special ‘La Celeste’ graphic inside the collar.

Uruguay 2016 Copa America Away Kit

Copa America 2016 Schedule © 2016