COPA America Centenario 2016 Schedule

Calendario, Fixtures, PDF Download


2016 Copa América Centenario trophy unveiled

2016 Copa América Centenario trophy

CONMEBOL unveiled the 2016 Copa América Centenario trophy that will be awarded to the winner of the 2016 Copa América Centenario on Thursday night, revealing the special trophy at the headquarters of the Colombian Football Federation.

Standing two feet tall, weighing nearly 16 pounds and made of a metal base covered in 24 karat gold, the trophy was commissioned by CONCACAF and CONMEBOL, designed by EPIC Studios in the US and created by Thomas Lyte’s London Workshops in England.

The trophy will be awarded to the winner of this summer’s Copa América Centenario following the tournament final on June 26 at MetLife Stadium in New Jersey. The winning team will be able to display the trophy permanently, given that this is a special, one-time Copa América.

The champion will also receive and have their name engraved on the historic Copa América trophy. The winner of the tournament will also be registered on the official list of winners of the Copa América.

Held to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the original Copa América, the Copa América Centenario is a special, one-off tournament that features ten teams from CONMEBOL and six teams from CONCACAF. This summer’s tournament will be hosted in the US, marking the first time the Copa América – which is normally contested between 10 South American countries and two guest nations every four years – will be played outside of South America.


The tournament will begin on June 3, when the US national team will host Colombia in a Group A match at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copa America 2016 Schedule © 2016